The Emergence of Capitalism in a Communist Country?

I had been looking forward to and anticipating the release of Liberty in North Korea’s (LiNK) final video upload during their Bridge to North Korea campaign. The video is somewhat, but not directly, related to my research question.  Over the time of about a month or so, LiNK had proposed that they were going to “build a bridge to north Korea that cannot be torn down.” I thought to myself what could they possibly be talking about. Of course, I came to find out that they were speaking figuratively. They were not building a physical bridge but rather a bridge that makes a difference in the lives of some North Koreans. This bridge is made by refugees who send money to their friends and families that are still in North Korea. I’ve asked myself the same question I’m sure many have thought of, what is the solution to the Human Rights crisis in North Korea? I thought maybe the solution to could be found in international intervention such as the U.N. But I realized what is the UN going to do? Give North Korea more sanctions? After watching this video, I believe that the grass root marketization of North Korea is a step to freedom in North Korea. It may be miniscule or significant, either way it is a step in the right direction. I picked up a message or theme from this video, whether it was intended or not, that the capitalist economic system works. Capitalism in North Korea allows and equips the people with the ability to provide basic necessities for their families, break from dependence on the regime, and acquire goods and information that has been banned in the country. I wonder, will this eventually lead to the toppling of the Kim regime? It only takes a spark to light the flame.

3 thoughts on “The Emergence of Capitalism in a Communist Country?

  1. Interesting line of thought relevant to your research topic–is capitalism better than communism, and is that why communism failed?
    What did you think of Dr. Lynham’s discussion of resource rich but poorly run countries? You might talk to him about your project and the North Korea situation.

    • I thought Dr. Lyhham’s discussion of the “resource rich curse” was interesting. When he showed the data of the various economies I thought that such a conclusion can’t really be made because those countries have poor forms of government, and maybe if the U.S. for example had a such an abundance of resources it would be very well managed, that is if there isn’t a government shutdown. I was surprised when he made the statement that agreed with what I had inferred.
      I wanted to ask him what his thoughts were on communism as an economic system and what effects would wealth distribution in the U.S. have on our economy, since that is what some Americans, such as the Occupy supporters, are pushing for.

Leave a Reply

